Don’t look back
It isn’t safe
I tell myself today

My heart is heavy
At the loss
For this forsaken mess

It isn’t fair
It isn’t just
I stood by
For what?

You cannot change
What’s not meant
To stand the test of time

I’m the judge, and the jury
My toughest critic yet

I see my flaws,
Lack of skills
A truth of deceptive haze

Abandoning my misperceptions
Of who I aught to be
No one is as big a critic
Undeniably me

One day Perhaps
my truth will show
And I will come to learn
My worth and value
Are my poise
My beauty
Not skin deep.

Love or leave
You made a choice
onward so it seem
Unforgiving and relentless
I will live my dreams

Leave a Reply

