Woman in Red

I painted my toes. I chose a bright, fiery red that screams sofisticstion and asks for attention.  It’s a simple way for me to feel feminine, but not helpless. Not that I would not be happy if I got help along the way. It’s just that I do not need someone to save me. That would imply my life is so bad it isn’t worth my time. While I do agree aspects are downright impossible, my life is totally worth living.  

I’m also not helpless. I can pretty much do anything I set my mind to, doesn’t matter how difficult it might be. I just set my mind on what I want to do and work to get it done. Much of the time I do a pretty darn good job, as I’ve only had myself to rely on over the years.  
I’m also not helpless. I can pretty much do anything I set my mind to, doesn’t matter how difficult it might be. I just set my mind on what I want to do and work to get it done. Much of the time I do a pretty darn good job, as I’ve only had myself to rely on.

It also has helped I’m fairly strong. I joke with my adult daughters I’m stronger than they are, the truth is I am. I never set out to be able to do all the things I can do, but at a young age, I realized if I wanted or needed something I had to do it myself. Now it gives me a sense of pride I have this type of control over my life.

But when I was younger, I’ll admit it saddened me. Now it empowers me.

I tend to surprise people, especially men with how strong and self sufficient I am and that I can cook and bake as well.  I’m guessing they assume I am helpless and when they see I am not, their ego gets bruised. Lol. Like why does she need me. Precisely!

I like the fact I can pull my own weight, that I’m in control and aware of the world around me, in a way I think many women are not. It is important I feel how I do and to have the skill set to do a plethora of tasks but still remain feminine. Besides why does hard work mean you are less of a woman? Really? Who ever said a woman needed to be helpless and rescued? I’m just as smart, hard working and even as strong as some male counterparts. To be treated with more respect and valued for what I can do and not be judged because of my sex would be nice.

Who said I had to give up my femininity?

Or my need for companionship? Just because I don’t need the help doesn’t mean I wouldn’t welcome it. There is something to be said for someone who wants to work with you and takes the time to get to know you.  

Today I will savor the fact, that my pretty toenails stand out.  Much like my personality, they show a side of me that screams out, this time it is femininty! 

Leave a Reply

